top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Paige Reekie - Futurist

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

How do I contribute to a positive school culture?


Throughout my three years at Mount Boucherie, I have been involved in a variety of programs including, but not limited to: Boucherie Theatre Company, Humans of Boucherie, Grad Council, and (most notably) The Global Village. Through these programs, I have had the opportunity to meet and connect with many other Mount Boucherie students, contribute towards our school's leadership, and help to build upon our school's strong and unique culture.

Additionally, I always do my best to be friendly, kind, and supportive towards all of my classmates both in the classroom, and in the hallways.


Some individuals I believe will have a significant impact in terms of the future:


Although I strongly believe that everyone in the graduating class is capable of great things, this question only allows me to highlight a few individuals who have stood out to me over the past three years.

First, I would like to recognize a few of many students who I believe will have a significant impact academically: Cole Waldbillig, Mckinley Kemp, and Bethany Schroeder. I am certain these individuals will not only excel in their studies, but will also use their knowledge to make the world a better place.

Next, I would like to recognize some of the incredible athletes in our school: Jordan Thorsen, Selena Arima, and Sam Dixon. These students have demonstrated remarkable dedication towards their sport, and their education. I believe that they will lead their teams to many victories, and will excel at anything they put their minds to.

I would also like to acknowledge the students who I believe have shown great skill in fine arts. and will use their creativity to shape our future. Mila Rio is one of the most courageous individuals I know, and she can create extraordinary pieces of art using any medium. Additionally, Sky Logan has demonstrated outstanding skills as a stage manager within our school's theatre program.

Lastly, I will acknowledge the individuals within our grad class who I believe will become extraordinary global citizens. Both Jenaya McRorie and Jenna Newman have spent countless hours volunteering within our school, and I can see them promoting great change as they continue to serve our community after graduation.


What will our graduating class accomplish as a group going forward?


I am incredibly proud of our entire graduating class. We are a group of talented, determined, and amazing individuals, who will create great change wherever we find ourselves. When I look around the school hallways, I see artists, athletes, volunteers, academics, and so much more, and I am certain that every one of us will do great things moving forward. As a cohort, we display a variety of personality traits, including: leadership, intelligence, compassion, and dedication. Every individual in this graduating class has their own strengths and weaknesses, together, I truly believe that we can do anything.

As this chapter of our lives comes to a close, I cannot help but reflect on all that we have accomplished during our time at Mount Boucherie. Not only do we have one of the largest grad councils in the province, but we also have many incredible sports teams, multiple talented artists who are already beginning to share their work with the world, countless exceptionally intelligent individuals, and many students who have already demonstrated exemplary leadership. Based on all that I have seen during our time at MBSS, I cannot wait to see where we go next.

As we begin to move away from the Okanagan, whether it is for school, work, or travel, we will bring the spirit of our graduating class with us, and with that, we will leave great change in our wake. No matter your skill, your passion, or your future plans, we all have one thing in common: our ability to excel at anything we put our minds to. For this reason, I cannot wait to see the impact that we will have in the future.


What I love about MBSS:


I am proud to call myself a Mount Boucherie graduate, and couldn't imagine a better place to finish this chapter of my life.

There are countless things that I love about MBSS, first of which is the variety of programs that are offered: Grad Council, athletics, theatre, robotics, and many more. These programs not only allow students to express a variety of passions, but also give them the opportunity to discover new ones. Additionally, I appreciate all of the teachers within our school. They work so hard for their students, and have played a large role making my experience here memorable. Lastly, my favourite part about MBSS: the people who I have had the opportunity to connect with over the past three years. Although have not had the opportunity to form connections with all of you, those I have had the pleasure of meeting have made this journey remarkable.




bottom of page