top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Caine McCabe - Historian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

How do I contribute to a positive school culture?


For the past three years at MBSS, I have dedicated myself to be kind and thoughtful to my peers, teachers, and staff. In grade 10, I decided that I wanted to enjoy my high school years and I could contribute by radiating feelings of happiness, acceptance, and inclusion for everyone I came in contact with, in hopes that this energy would ricochet its way within our school and then back to me.


Describe four events that have shaped the identity of our graduating class:


My first day at MBSS was an intense, nerve racking and exciting event. Reflecting back to my first days I consciously thought about who I was as a person and how I could be "me" in such a big school, but I also wanted to find where the nearest washroom was. That first day was the start of what has shaped the past three years here at MBSS for all of us. All of these experiences have contributed to who we are today. When I look back now, I remember the challenges but also the amazing and fun times with so many friends and teachers. The second event is the Capstone Project, am grateful we were able to use our education in directing us towards a strong career path. The third event I felt shaped our graduating class were the many sporting events and one in particular was the Senior Basketball game against KSS. Everyone had signs and were cheering their hearts out. We had an amazing time uniting together with such spirit and feeling we were all part of such a great team. Finally I have truly appreciated the grad bonding events that have even brought us closer together, not only have we been able to gain new skills like skating, we have learned how to work together and get organized to make the best experience for us here at MBSS possible.


Describe our graduating class in terms of what we have already accomplished as collective group?


Our 2020 graduating class accomplishment is successfully completing our Secondary education together. Many of us have been together since kindergarten. Somewhat cliché, however we have learned to set goals. persevere and stick it out to the end. Not to give up. I have appreciated my peers when we were able to come together and help one another especially when we were taken out of our comfort zones. Showing respect to our veterans on Remembrance day. Always acknowledging the West Bank First Nations territory and learning about Canada's history with First Nations and including culture. singing and teachings. I feel the growth we have made at MBSS is special and unique and truly has helped us all get to where we are today.


What I love about MBSS:


Earlier this year my brother, who also attends MBSS, shared with me that what appreciates so much about our school is that he always feels safe. At first I thought of what he said as a "no brainer" but the that more I thought about it, I realized how important it is that when you belong, that you do feel safe, that you have someone looking out for you, it makes it so much easier and simpler to learn. Maybe we take this for granted, it has been a privilege of mine my entire life and I am grateful that this is how I feel when I walk down our hallways. I know this is not true for everyone in high school, however for me here at MBSS I love that's the way it is. I would support that everyone in Canada should feel the same way as my brother and I. Ekosi.




bottom of page