top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Cole Waldbillig - Valedictorian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

Originally, I wasn't going to apply for the Valedictorian; however, my fellow grads and friends talked me into it. To me, being the Valedictorian is not so much about the title, having the highest GPA, or being the most popular, but it is the recognition from your fellow grads and peers. Being chosen as the Valedictorian means that your peers have elected you to be the individual who embodies and represents the views, values, and achievements of the entire grad class, which is certainly a high honour. To be chosen as Valedictorian means that you are an honest, hard-working student, whom in the face of adversity, helps to motivate and carry those around them, with them, towards success. Someone who is awarded the title Valedictorian is an excellent role model and someone who leads by example. While they contribute greatly to the overall positive environment of the school, they display humility, and often refrain from entering the spotlight. Personally, I would like to be Valedictorian because I would love to represent the graduating class of 2020, which includes many of my acquaintances, friends, and individuals whom I have watched grow, mature, and evolve into characters with voice and passion.


Extracurriculars & acts of service:


In my spare time, I enjoy playing competitive hockey for the Summerland Steam Junior B team of the KIJHL, and in the offseason, I take up baseball with many of my good friends. As of lately and after finishing English 12 in the first semester, I have recently developed a passion for writing short stories and other pieces of fiction in my spare time. To stay on the ice during the offseason, I also work as a minor hockey official. With regards to my community involvement and acts of service, I am involved in many things. First, I help maintain my neighbor's yard through shovelling in the winter, and cutting the lawn in the summer months, as she is growing more feeble and her husband has recently passed. I have also volunteered at the Canadian Hockey Enterprise Development Camps for the past four summers. Here, I help shoot pucks on the young goalies, run warmups and dryland outside, create team building games, and act as a mentor for the aspiring hockey players. Through my social justice class last year, I also volunteered at the Kelowna Gospel Mission. Here, I helped to wash dishes from the various meals and served as a listening ear to many incredible individuals who have been through great hardships. Lastly, through my hockey team this year, I helped volunteer at the Canadian Veterans Legions in Summerland, by serving lunch and running Christmas themed games/activities for young children.


The importance and impact of hockey :


The hockey arena has been the place I spend the most time at, outside of school. Through my 12 years of playing competitive, organized hockey, the game has left a lasting impact on my life. From older, experienced veteran players, I have learnt what it truly means to be a leader and how to take a young player under your wing. Because hockey is a team sport, I have developed the understanding of what it means to be a team, with each individual player accepting their role no matter how large or small, and contributing to the team's overall success. Lastly, hockey is a sport of great high and low points. These polar opposites have taught me resiliency and what it means to persevere, as well as remaining humble and not getting too ahead of yourself. In connection to school, hockey has taught me how to properly treat and respect my coaches/authority figures. This has translated over to how I treat the teachers and the staff at MBSS- with respect and obedience. During the seasons, I have also indulged myself in many community activities and events such as bagging groceries, skating at the Santa Skate with local youth, sitting down and talking with veterans at the Summerland Legion, and showing support at the Terry Fox run. During these community events, I was able to hear incredible stories from people who have experienced severe hardships. I have helped to mentor young aspiring hockey players, and simply get out and help the community.


What I love about MBSS:


One of the most unique things about MBSS is how inclusive, friendly, and united the students are. Through the grad council's "Grad Bonding" committee, activities like the Polar Dip, hockey games, and giant twister have been planned. At each of these events, the student support and attendance has been incredible. Not only have students from all different cliques and friend groups attended, but once at the functions, together everyone socializes as one whole. The students at MBSS have broken these friend group barriers, uniting us all and bringing us that much closer together, which I have never witnessed before. When reflecting on what I love about MBSS, a few things immediately come to mind. The staff at MBSS is so incredibly accommodating, whether it be staying late or dedicating their lunch time for allowing a re-test, or teaching class lessons in different ways to accommodate a variety of learning styles. Additionally, the staff are all very personable people that are easy to approach, as well as to talk to for personal advice and guidance. Part of what allows us students to connect so well to the teachers are the small classroom sizes which help you get acquainted with your teachers as well as allowing for more one on one assistance. One of the other things I truly adore about MBSS is the wide array of courses, dual-credit programs, school sports, clubs, and volunteer opportunities that are available here at MBSS. MBSS certainly prioritizes the diverse interests of the student body.


Why do I deserve your vote?


Ultimately, my peers and fellow grads should vote me for Valedictorian not just because of my community and school involvement, but because I am an honest, hard-working student who is a friend to all. No matter what walk of life you are from, I am not one to judge - I simply treat everyone as equal. I am always one who puts others before myself, whether that be accepting homework and helping out a classmate during work time, or even giving up my lunch to a friend who forgot theirs. I will undoubtedly represent the graduation class with dignity and humility.


bottom of page