top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Mila Rio - Valedictorian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

I want to be Valedictorian because I love this school. I want to thank MBSS for the journey it's taken me on, and this is how I can contribute my piece. I'm a strong public speaker, and I'm well connected within the school community. I'm enthusiastic and positive, I want to represent our grad class of 2020 and encourage this wonderful group of people as we shift to our next stage of life.

Being Valedictorian is more than just a title or an extra sentence on another college application; it's a commitment. To take this position and to represent our entire grade requires dedication, perseverance, leadership, and a passion for all we love about this school. The speech that the Valedictorian will give is the last impression we have of life in high school, the final note to over a decade of education. I want to be the person to give this speech. I want to take on this responsibility and end the school year with a positive attitude and an inspired group of kids who are ready to go out and make their mark on the world. I love MBSS, and I believe I deserve the chance to represent it.


Extracurricular activities & acts of service:


I'm an active member in my school and community. Up to three days a week, I volunteer as a barista through the Global Village, our non-for-profit café. I am in multiple clubs, classes, and teams in and outside of school ranging from our Social Justice club and Grad Council to also being an active member of our school's girls rugby team. I've successfully held a job in the field of arts and technology since my return from Columbia as an exchange student last year, working as a muralist, social media influencer, and assistant. I am a regular volunteer both in my school and in my city. After becoming involved with the Rotary through their exchange program, I've stayed connected with the local clubs here in Kelowna by regularly volunteering at various events working with other exchange students. The year before my exchange, I volunteered weekly at the Kelowna Art Gallery working with children and families, and currently I volunteer every week at my local library assisting and teaching Spanish and English. I do my best to contribute to the communities of which I belong to and those that are in need of help. To support and succeed in my ambitions, I also practice dedication, determination, and enthusiasm with whatever task I am given and always work to the best of my abilities.


The importance and impact of the Global Village:


My time working in the Global Village has been a great way to become more connected within my school community and with my peers. Through this, I've earned many skill sets such as communication, responsibility, and problem-solving. The best part of this all is that it's for a good cause! We set a different goal each semester and through a sustainable process, we raise money for various charities and organizations. In years before, we have funded schools, sponsored families, and more!

Working at the Global Ville has allowed me to gain perspective on how much of a powerful difference working together can make. It's heartwarming to know that through the simple act of making a milkshake it can transfer over to helping an entire family, supporting an endangered species, and more! It's inspired me to make changes in my own life in order to live a more sustainable, helpful, and positively influential lifestyle. This personal change impacts all of those around me. By working at the Global Village and using the skills I've learnt there, I've learned how to encourage positivity and growth in local and distant communities spanning across the world. Through the family the Global Village has created, we make a difference to not only ourselves but each life we touch. The Global Village has a very positive impact on our community and I'm so grateful I have the opportunity to contribute.


What I love about MBSS:


Each day I spend at Mount Boucherie Senior Secondary I find another part of it I'm grateful for. I know I'm not alone when I say I've found a home at this school; MBSS has found a way to create incredibly strong connections within its staff and students that span across all of our diverse population. What I cherish most about this school is our strong community; the students, staff, and surrounding environment all exude a sense of solidarity and support that has become the foundation of a tight-knit and productive family. At Mount Boucherie we learn not only our formal education, but how to grow as people. How to create strong connections, build everlasting friendships, and to become the best person you can be. I say this from personal experience, through my years of high school here I've watched myself and my peers transform from little nuts to mighty oak trees, ready to branch out to the next stage of life. MBSS is more than just a school, we're a family.


Why do I deserve your vote?


I understand and will communicate that what makes this school great lies within us. Our grad class of 2020 is an amazing, strong, and diverse group of people and there's so many exceptional parts to this school, but what truly makes us unique is each other. I will represent what we love about this school, I will represent us. We're a family, and we'll stay connected through one thing: MBSS gave us a home, a place to grow and thrive before the next stage of our lives. I'm extremely proud to be part if this group, I can't wait to see where this adventure takes us next.




bottom of page