top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Paige Reekie - Valedictorian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

As Valedictorian, a person does much more than give a valedictory speech, they also become a representative for their graduating class. There are so many students within this school who deserve the title of Valedictorian, and it would be an honour to be chosen for this position. I am incredibly proud to call myself a Mount Boucherie graduate, and I am so grateful that I have had the opportunity to meet so many amazing people along the way. Throughout my high school years, I have always strived to leave a positive and influential footprint behind me, and having the role of Valedictorian would be a wonderful and life-changing experience. Although I have not had the pleasure of meeting everyone in this graduating class, I am incredibly proud of our group as a whole. For those of you I have gotten to form friendships with along the way, it has been wonderful getting to experience this incredible journey with you. As mentioned earlier, it would truly be an honour to have the opportunity to represent this extraordinary cohort at the graduation ceremony, as well as within the school and community.


Extracurricular activities & acts of service:


Throughout high school I have been involved in a variety of extracurricular/service activities within both the school and the community. At Mount Boucherie I have been a part of programs including, but not limited to:

Mount Boucherie Theatre Company

I have acted for our school's theatre company for all three years of high school. Through this company, I have had the opportunity to play a variety of roles, form friendships with many amazing students of all grades, and contribute to our school's culture.

Grad Council

My participation and leadership within Grad Council, along with the efforts of many other outstanding graduating students, has helped to contribute towards a successful and more united grad year.

The Global Village and Humans of Boucherie

Through my management role in the Global Village Non-Profit Coffee Shop, I have been able to lead and connect with many passionate Mount Boucherie students as we work to raise money for local and global causes.


I also consider myself to be an active member within the community. Since a young age I have been involved in a number of extracurricular activities including piano, non-competitive soccer, and CrossFit. Additionally, I have been a member of Girl Guides since I was seven years old. Three years ago, I decided to take my involvement within this program to the next level and become a Junior Leader for the Sparks (girls aged five to six). Through this role, I have had the opportunity to meet and connect with many young girls in my community. This has allowed me to become their mentor, as I guide them through crafts, cultural lessons, and community service projects.


The importance and impact of the Global Village:


I believe my management role in The Global Village has been my most significant contribution towards our local and school community. For those of you who do not know, The Global Village is our school's student-run, non-profit coffee shop located just across from the MPR. The money raised by selling a variety of drinks and bagels, goes directly towards local and global causes. I have been volunteering at the Global Village since I first entered the building back in grade ten. As a student volunteer, I attend my weekly shifts where I take orders as well as make drinks. This year, however, I was lucky enough to be chosen to be a student manager of 'The Global Village', alongside my co-manager Ethan Duncalfe. As a student manager, I have spent countless hours in 'The Global Village' organizing, managing the finances, planning, and leading our team of over thirty student volunteers. Through my work in 'The Global Village', I have not only been able to raise funds for local and global initiatives, but also contribute to a more united school environment. Working in 'The Global Village' has given me the opportunity to connect with so many amazing students, both within 'The Global Village', and larger Mount Boucherie community. I truly believe that 'The Global Village' is a large part of our school culture, and I am very grateful to have had this opportunity.


What I love about MBSS:


I am very grateful that I have had the opportunity to attend Mount Boucherie for the past three years, and couldn't imagine a better place to finish this chapter of my life. There are countless things that make MBSS unique, first of which is the variety of programs that are available within the school, including: Grad Council, Peer Counseling, athletics, Humans of Boucherie, theatre, robotics, and so much more. These programs not only allow students to express a variety of skills and passions, but also give them the opportunity to discover new ones. Additionally, I appreciate all of the amazing teachers within our school. They all work so hard for their students, and have been a large part of making my experience here memorable. Last , but not least, my favourite part about Mount Boucherie: the people who I have had the opportunity to meet and connect with over the past three years. Although I have not had the opportunity to connect with everybody in this grad class, every individual who I have had the opportunity to form a friendship with has truly made my high school journey memorable. You are all kind, intelligent, talented, and overall incredible individuals, and it has been an honour to experience this journey with you. Through these relationships, we have been able to develop a strong sense of community within our school, and have become a force to be reckoned with.


Why do I deserve your vote?


Although I may not be the most extroverted individual in the school, I believe that I am a strong applicant for the position of Valedictorian. Through my involvement in many programs within the school, I have had the opportunity to create a positive impact on our school culture, and form strong friendships with many individuals at Mount Boucherie. There are many strong applicants for this position, however, I believe that my passion towards our school, and relationships with others in our graduating class would make me an excellent representative for Mount Boucherie's Class of 2020!






bottom of page