top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Beckham Scott- Zvanitajs - Valedictorian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

To become a Valedictorian is much more than a popularity contest, a fancy title or opportunities for scholarships. It means to be the democratically elected student of our graduation class; to be the one to set the example of what our school represents. This would be a vote showing the determination; hard working, respectful, inclusive and unified students of MBSS. With this as my third and final year in the leadership program at MBSS, I have learned what it means to become a leader in my community, whether it be inside or outside of school. I understand that I embody many of these qualities and that I will use them in my everyday life, even after I leave high school to join the Canadian Armed Forces. Becoming a Valedictorian would be the ultimate reward for the abundance of my contributions and efforts to our school. I feel that I would make an excellent candidate and would exceed all expectations for this important role.


Extracurriculars & acts of service:


903 British Columbia Dragoons Royal Canadian Army Cadets

- 2nd In Command at home unit

Poppy Campaigns 2015 - 2019

- 5th year running in Program

Remembrance Day Ceremonies

- 3 Years participating, MC of the ceremonies this school year

Grad Secretary

- One of 3 Grad Secretaries of the Graduating Class of 2020, helps students through the graduation process, provides information on crucial deadlines and events in school and facilitate the operation of Grad Council of MBSS.

Leadership Program 2017-present

- Leadership functions at MBSS helping in and outside of timetable including Music Unites volunteer 2019, LINK Crew 2018/2019, Dance Show volunteer 2017/2018.

Humans Of Boucherie 2019 - present

- Interviewer for profile candidates, documenting, recording and publishing the stories and messages for instagram page.


The importance and impact of Army Cadets:


I joined the Army Cadet Program 5 years ago on the recommendation of a close friend and have never looked back on it. They have given me the skills and confidence towards the person I am today. As 3rd in command at my home unit, I have devoted much of my spare time to the function of my home corps. With learning and enhancing in areas of citizenship, comradeship and responsibility, ensuring that all of my subordinates are aiming for excellence in their Cadet careers. As part of the Cadet Program, we do our best to give back to our community, with this past November for Remembrance Day we exceeded expectations. I was the senior coordinator of the event, planning and distributing assigned persons to locations for the donation booths. In partnership with the Local Legion Branch No. 26, we raised over $9000 in donations for the Poppy Fund. This was the most amount of money raised above all the other Air, Army and Sea Cadet units in the local area. This money is donated to Veterans Affairs and the Legion to support our veterans in need in our community and to fund Legion activities. Overall, the Cadet program has been one of the most supportive backings to my community and myself, tirelessly creating a modern inclusive teamwork environment; in operation of a dynamic military-like structure. I am proud to be part of this organization and take pride in my contributions to the Royal Canadian Army Cadets.


What I love about MBSS:


Our school has a strong sense of pride. We have so many resources available to us at our that we never think of. From our competitive Athletics department to our inventive Trades and Services classes, from the many International students we host, to our proud Indigenous Academy, we truly have an incredible diversity. There is always a club to join or a school event being hosted. We can all find that we can take great gratification in the strong diversity showcased in our school. This allows us to be able to share a connection even if we may have totally opposite classes or courses, we are all able to rally behind the common goal of being present at our school. Thus encouraging us to respect others with dignity, compassion and inclusiveness. These values are what keeps our school pride strong and alive; that is what I love about MBSS


Why do I deserve your vote?


I am a student of the people. With my five years experience of leadership inside and outside school, I wish to become a clear voice for MBSS. With this, I would promise to become the direct contact between students and the school administration. Being able to announce new changes, address public concerns and express the voice of students who feel as if they don't have one. Whether it be a grade 9 to grade 12, everyone should have the right to be heard and involved at our school.


bottom of page