top of page
  • Writer's pictureMckinley Kemp

Jenaya McRorie - Valedictorian

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

Being Valedictorian has always seemed like a dream to me. However, if there’s one thing I have learned through my years at Boucherie, it’s that I should go for what I want. My years here have been some of the best, and saying goodbye to all of you, my classmates, at the end of this will be hard. I think for me, being your Valedictorian would be an amazing way to end my experience here. I would feel so lucky to be able to represent our grad class - the people that made my high school experience so incredible. To me, being Valedictorian means being the embodiment of the grad class. It should be someone who has been dedicated throughout our years here at Mount Boucherie, unites the grad class, and someone who has appreciated high school and have given it their all. To me, even having the chance to run for such a position is humbling, and I’m so grateful that you are considering me to represent you! I want to be Valedictorian because I love this school, and I love the students attending it, and I would love the opportunity to express that to everyone.


Extra Curriculars & acts of service:


- A Global Village volunteer

- I run the @mbssbears Instagram account along with two other students and Admin

- I am heavily involved in Grad Council. Although this is a course I receive credits for, I have already completed the required 100 hours of service, so for the remainder of the course my service will be considered volunteer work.

- I run the @humansofboucherie Instagram account

- I play Ultimate Frisbee on our school team!


The importance and impact of Humans of Boucherie:


Humans of Boucherie is an initiative that is so close to my heart. For me, witnessing how students are brought together through others’ stories and experiences is so inspiring. I love to read the posts that my team gets, and get to know students and staff that I see in the hallway everyday, but never got the chance to connect with before. Humans of Boucherie works to promote kindness and acceptance of others, and builds empathy within the school community. I think Humans made a major impact on me because of the amazing team I work with. We have close to 30 students in our group, each with such a passion for improving our school community. It’s amazing to me how my team is so enthusiastic about what Humans of Boucherie represents, and is willing to put in so much effort for nothing in return. Seeing how loving these students are, has impacted me so much, and has reminded me of how much good there is in this world. We are all so much better off when we can learn to understand one another, and grow from each others’ experiences. The bravery that those who share their stories demonstrate, and the selflessness that the Humans of Boucherie team members show is really what helps make MBSS such a positive environment. I am equally proud and humbled to have had the opportunity to lead such a force for good in our school.


What I love about MBSS:


I know it may be hard to believe, and I know not everyone has had the same experience I have, but I actually look forward to coming to school each day. Thinking about graduating and moving on has been something that has crossed my mind a lot this year. It’s hard to imagine life differently almost, leaving this school behind. What I love about MBSS is that it really feels like home, and I have to give a lot of credit to the students for this. Mount Boucherie is lucky to have a lot of diversity in our school, and it has been amazing to witness how our differences are always matched with kindness and acceptance. I’ve felt like I could be myself here at Boucherie. Although our staff really is amazing, I have to believe that I’ve felt this way because of the student body. We are really good at accepting one another - I’ve seen this in so many of the activities I’ve been involved in, and that’s why MBSS means so much to me. I think what sets Mount Boucherie apart, is that there are so many opportunities for students to get involved and create change. The staff are so willing to support initiatives, and provide students with the confidence and help they need to get it started. I count myself lucky to have attended Mount Boucherie, a place filled with SO MUCH good.


Why do I deserve your vote?


I hope that you would vote for me as your Valedictorian because you feel I would represent our class well. I have dedicated a lot of my time to MBSS, and through this I’ve gotten to know many of you well. I hope that I’ve made an impact on Boucherie, and that you believe I am deserving of this title. I am so grateful for my years here and would love the opportunity to represent the students that have impacted me in so many ways. It would be such an honour to be your Valedictorian, thank you for your consideration.


bottom of page